Skip to content

Crib it, Crib it Good

09/01/2010

All photos property of Olivia Makinson

Halfway through the first round of Cribbage I began wishing I had started with a simpler hobby for my first blog entry.”It’s a thinking man’s game,” Luke (@lukewalkitout)  warned me before he started rattling off a series of rules and numbers.

A BRIEF synopsis of the rules (because it would be a form of cruel and unusual punishment unfair to subject you to the extended and intricately complicated full version…you probably don’t even need it, you probably already have a hobby, don’t you?):

  • Usually two players, can be more if played in teams, two teams.
  • Each player moves his or her pegs around the cribbage board twice. First player to get around twice wins.
  • You move your pegs according to how many points you receive from creating combinations with your cards. (Key combinations: 15, pairs, 31, straights).

This is really all I can tell you without having to introduce you to the “cribbage frustration forehead wrinkle” (a term I have coined and am hoping will catch on in the inner circle of cribbage players…also known as “The Cribs”…again a term I’m lobbying for).

But I wouldn’t want to do that to you. I like you.

And why do I like you? I like you because you have somehow stumbled across my blog and given me validation in life a page view, so thanks for that (I currently have three. Three of which were me).

And if you’re actually reading this far into my blog, then I’d say it’s safe to assume you’re my mother. And you, Mom, gave me life, so I like you and I thank you too.

Back to cribbage: Now it may have just been that I was tired or that a fast-paced series of simple math and memorization (That card means you can move your peg two spaces; Aces equal one, not ten; have to say “go” to continue) wasn’t exactly what I wanted to be doing at 11:00 on a Tuesday night, but I’m not sure cribbage is the game for me.

All photos property of Olivia Makinson

Luke assured me the game was usually more fun (an insult I shrugged off/pretended not to notice).

I can understand where he is coming from, though.

I kept messing up the math, going when it wasn’t my turn, forgetting to move my pegs, taking a very fairly long time to move my pegs when it was my turn (the tiny holes were hard to count and I have bad vision, I’ll show you my prescription, I swear).

All in all, I wasn’t even kinda sorta close to being the best cribbage player (and probably not on my way to being inducted in as one of “The Cribs”…which is ok, I look better in red anyway).

I’m going to have to give it another shot (any takers?) and maybe that’ll turn my opinion around. But as of now, I am perfectly fine if I don’t have to hear Luke tell me to “peg it!” for quite some time.

On to the next one…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/02/2010 1:15 pm

    My buddy Gary is developing phone applications for card game scoring; he’s looking for interest in what kinds of card games would benefit from a portable scoring system. http://www.scorelackey.com is his site and he’d dearly love the feedback. His current “Spades Lackey” is on the android market as we speak.

    So, would a phone app be good for a cribbage score keeper? “virtual pegs” or some such?

    Warm regards,

    vin

    • cribbage permalink
      09/03/2010 10:41 am

      ViNSaNiTY,

      Yes! I could see a phone app for a cribbage board as a huge hit. I’ve found myself often visiting with a friend when we thought it would be fun to play cribbage… but NO Cribbage Board! If we had our phone, your app, and a deck of cards we would have been in business.

      Great idea! Do it.

      Tony
      http://www.cribnotes.org

  2. cribbage permalink
    09/03/2010 10:38 am

    Olivia, love your blog post:

    Familiar story that I’ve heard from numerous people after their first attempt to play cribbage. The most difficult part of cribbage is learning how to score and count hands. Once you have that down you will be able to enjoy cribbage and CrossCribb alike.

    CrossCribb is a game that is based off the cribbage scoring method. The nice thing about CrossCribb is that all hands are played open faced on the playing board. This is helpful when learning the game as an experienced opponent can help explain each move the both of you make while you are playing.

    If your serious about attempting to learn cribbage or CrossCribb you may want to visit http://www.ecribbage.com where they have a great community of avid cribbage players online. Here you can practice against a computer opponent or play someone live over the Internet while having a chat with your opponent about strategy, etc.

    If you would like me to teach you how to play CrossCribb I’d be happy to do so online. Just let me know.

    Best regards,

    Tony
    http://www.crosscribb.com
    http://www.cribnotes.org

  3. 09/04/2010 9:41 am

    This is an interesting idea for a blog. You’ve tried a card game, but I suggest looking into some board games. its a growing hobby with lots to offer.

Leave a Reply

